Los Cabos' Rating Changes Under New Travel Warning System

Michele Moreno
January 12, 2018

The travel warnings given by the U.S. State Department come in four levels, with Level 1 for normal precaution, Level 2 for exercise increased caution, Level 3 for reconsider travel and Level 4 for "Do Not Travel".

The US State Department on Wednesday issued new methodology for issuing worldwide travel advisory with Afghanistan placed along with about a dozen countries not fit for travel, while Pakistan was ranked among countries where travelers were asked to reconsider their plans.

"Some areas have increased risk", the State Department advisory said.

The U.S. Department of State warns there is always a risk with global travel since the conditions in any country can change at any time.

The new advisory issued today by the US Government cautions American tourists from traveling to India asking its citizens to "exercise increased caution" due to "crime and terrorism" prevailing in India.

Level 3 - Reconsider Travel: Avoid travel due to serious risks to safety and security. During an emergency, the U.S. government may have very limited ability to provide assistance.

The new advisories this week place the states - Sinaloa, Colima, Michoacan, Guerrero and Tamaulipas on the Texas border - on the same danger level as countries such as Afghanistan, Syria and Iraq.

The Level 4 restrictions on five of Mexico's 31 states can be seen as a road map of drug cartel operations.

"The Indian authorities report rape is one of the fastest growing crimes in India".

Moving forward, every country will be given a level ranging from one, being almost no risk; to level four, a do not travel warning. This could also solve some confusion travelers often had about the meaning of a travel warning or alert versus an advisory.

The State Department considers five states in Mexico as risky for USA travelers as war-torn nations such as Syria, Yemen and Afghanistan.

US travelers were also warned to avoid unnecessary trips to the Central American nation of Guatemala due to the high criminal violence, sexual assault, armed robbery and gang-related offenses.

The state department is concerned about violent crime in all of the five states but also warns of specific dangers in each one of them. "Do not travel to Balochistan province, Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa (K-P) province, and the Federally Administered Tribal Areas (FATA) due to terrorism", states the website. US citizens also can not travel to North Korea with just a USA passport. Most of Europe is rated a two, including France, Germany, Denmark, Italy, the U.K., Belgium, and Spain. Countries designated level 3 and above will be reviewed every 6 months for safety assessments, and further reviews will be carried out based on current events.

Other reports by Insurance News

Discuss This Article