Jose expected to become major hurricane by Friday -NHC

Javier Howell
September 8, 2017

Hurricane Katia churned nearly 200 miles (322 km) off the Gulf coast of Mexico on Wednesday evening before an expected turn towards land that could dump heavy rain on eastern states in the coming days, the U.S. National Hurricane Center (NHC) said.

Tropical storm Jose strengthened in the Atlantic Ocean Wednesday afternoon, officially reaching hurricane status.

The Category 1 storm is more than 1,000 miles from the Lesser Antilles in the Caribbean. The system has maximum sustained winds of 80 miles per hour.

Katia has "worrying characteristics" because it is very slow-moving and could dump a lot of rain on areas that have been saturated in recent weeks, Luis Felipe Puente, head of Mexico's national emergency services, told domestic television.

While Irma has followed a path expected to take it toward the U.S. state of Florida, Jose is expected to swing back out into the Atlantic after grazing Puerto Rico on Saturday night.

At 10 a.m. CDT (11 a.m. EDT/1500 UTC) the center of Hurricane Katia was located near 21.6 degrees north latitude and 94.6 degrees west longitude.

Katia strengthened into a hurricane on September 6 at 4 p.m. CDT (5 p.m. EDT).

Meanwhile, Katia strengthened into a hurricane in the southwestern Gulf of Mexico. While it will not have a direct impact on Southeast US unlike Irma, some damage may occur over the Leeward Islands when the storm moves forward.

Irma hit several Caribbean islands on Wednesday, including Barbuda, St. Martin, Anguilla, and St. Barts.

CBS News weather producer David Parkinson reports that this is the first time since 2010 that there are three named hurricanes all at once.

Jose is moving toward the west-northwest near 16 miles per hour (26 km/h), and this general motion is expected to continue for the next couple of days.

Although forecasters are watching Jose closely, the more pressing concern is Hurricane Irma, a "potentially catastrophic" Category 5 storm. Prime Minister Gaston Browne said it's possible a mandatory evacuation may be ordered by Friday. "We can expect additional evacuations as this storm continues to come near our state".

There have been no coastal watches or warnings issued for Hurricane Jose so far.

Other reports by Insurance News

Discuss This Article

FOLLOW OUR NEWSPAPER