Voting ends for India's Presidential poll

Javier Howell
July 18, 2017

The president of India is elected by an electoral assembly consisting of the elected members of the legislative assemblies of the Union Territories Delhi and Puducherry. Three MPs – Badruddin Ajmal, Siraj Uddin Ajmal and Radheshyam Biswas – will cast their votes in the State Assembly.

While MPs will mark their vote on a green-coloured ballot paper, pink-coloured ballot papers will be used for MLAs.

After the PM and Shah vote, MPs have begun queueing up in Parliament to cast their vote.

According to the EC document, it has allowed 14 Rajya Sabha and 41 Lok Sabha members to vote in state assemblies instead of Parliament House tomorrow.

He said the Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha have two vacancies each, while BJP MP Chedi Paswan did not have voting rights.

After the ink controversy in the Rajya Sabha polls in Haryana previous year, the EC has made a decision to give special pens to the electors to mark their votes in the presidential and vice-presidential polls.

Mishra said the final figures from four states - Andhra Pradesh, Jammu and Kashmir, Manipur and Tripura - were still awaited.

"All other states voted nearly close to 100 per cent. There is no question of voting for anyone else", he said.

The presidential polling was the highlight of the first day of the monsoon session of Parliament that saw Prime Minister Narendra Modi reaching four minutes before polling started to cast his vote.

The term of President Pranab Mukherjee expires on July 24 and a new President has to take over by July 25. Assistant Returning Officer (Secretary in charge of TN Assembly), K Boopathy will be taking the ballot box to Delhi along with Joint Secretary Subramanian, he told reporters. Earlier in the morning, Chief Minister Chandrasekhar Rao cast the first vote during the Presidential Poll while Speaker Madhusudhanachary and Opposition leader Jana Reddy followed him.

Uttar Pradesh chief minister Yogi Adityanath and his Goa counterpart Manohar Parrikar have received permission from the election commission to cast their votes at the legislative assemblies of their respective states during Monday's presidential elections.

The EC has also prepared posters on dos and don'ts at the polling centre.

Other reports by Insurance News

Discuss This Article